Vegan Glastonbury!

Hello, how are you?

Sorry I’ve been away for so long, but I have a very good reason, it was Glastonbury 2011! Whoop! We went last year as well but this time I had the challenge of being vegan too, not that it was that hard, Glastonbury being quite a hippy festival well caters for veganism.

The music was amazing, I think my highlights were the fleet foxes, secret sisters (amazing harmonies and country music!), the chemical brothers, Beyoncé, stornoway and the fisherman’s friends. But this is a food blog so I’d better talk about the food :)

This stall was my favourite! Almost everything they sold was vegan, the bread was all wholemeal and they put loads of salad onto everything. The salad was delicious, really fresh and with 12 ingredients you couldn’t get bored with it. I must admit I got a little obsessed! So obsessed in fact that I ate there 3 times which is quite a lot considering the variety there was.

Organic Tofu Burger

  • Organic Tofu Burger – stuffed full of whole grains and nuts this was one hefty burger, very filling and probably very healthy *cough*
  • Veggie Burger – I think this was a realeat burger, but whatever it was it was really moist and succulent with a huge amount of flavour, do I wish I’d eaten it twice, erm, yes!
  • Falafel – I have a confession, I don’t really like falafel, which I’m sure some people think is almost offensive. Did this falafel help me change my mind, honestly no, but the salad and vegan garlic mayo I drowned it in were gooood!

Smoked Hoisin Tofu Wrap

Regardless of what the sign says there wasn’t a choice in the tofu, it was smoked and covered in hoisin sauce, this was not a bad thing! The tofu was delicious, really firm, perfectly smoked and had a lovely sweetness from the sauce. The salad that came in the wrap was ok, standard iceberg fare, and the wrap? Well actually it wasn’t great, actually quite salty but I don’t like to moan. They’d run our of the citrusy vegan mayo when I got there but my friend Jess (who had it with the halloumi) said it was amazing. So all round happy vegan, I think I judged the salad harshly after the wonders of goodness gracious healthy foods!

Spiced Apple Cupcake

What’s the best thing to have at a festival when it’s cold and keeps raining? Black coffee and an apple cupcake (actually I think it was more of a muffin). This goes to show that you should never be a timid vegan or you may miss out on yummy food! Gary asked this stall if they did anything vegan, seeing as there was no advertising, and came back with this delightful morsel. Yum.

So this is probably not going to win a best looking food competition but it was really really good. Spicy chilli with Cajun fries all topped off with guacamole. It was meant to be topped with sour cream and cheese but they had no problems substituting for me :) Delicious and really filling.

Opposite problem here, I didn’t take a picture of the actual food! But I can tell you that breakfast here was probably my vegan highlight. The owner was so friendly it was bordering on scary! He seriously went out of his way to help me, even getting his wife to look at their personal margarine to see if it was vegan. Anyway here I had vegan fritters (mushroom & onion flavour), grilled vine tomatoes, baked beans and fresh bread from a local bakery. They were really good, especially as we were sitting in the rain surrounded by a sea of mud!

Vegan food is probably healthier than your average festival food, but there is still only so much bread and burgers I can take! So where did I turn? A handy little juice bar, shaped as a pineapple.

Was it the most amount of money I’ve ever spent on juice? Without a doubt yes (£4.80 for some carrots and oranges??!!), but it was worth it. I chose the ‘lifesaver’ which consisted of carrots, orange, apple and ginger. It was delicious. Gary had the immune booster which was also really good.

Even after all this food I still didn’t exhaust the vegan options! I spotted this, a stall selling just fry’s vegetarian goods (fatgayvegan talks about Fry’s here) but I didn’t get a chance to visit.

And there was at least one other veggie stall serving vegan food that we went to last year but didn’t this year.

So to conclude this ridiculously long post, eating vegan at Glastonbury is not only possible, it’s incredibly easy and very delicious! Take note Hop Farm whose only vegetarian option last year was chips, tsk!

So how about you? Been to any events where you’ve been pleasantly surprised by the food options?

Happy eating, Elise x

One response

Please leave a comment, it'd be great to hear from you!

